Skip to main content

Google no longer shows icons for none approved signin apps in security page taken a ton of icons down with it.

 If you went in your Google security tab in your account area this morning you probably noticed that a bunch of the icons for the apps connected with your account now have disappeared. If you wondered why this is why from the eyes of the developer of Rototer.com.


If you don't know what I'm talking about, this page used to have more icons displayed on it. Some accounts didn't suffer from this update like mine but other developers apps had their icons removed because these apps with their icons that have now disappeared include Alogia, (An AI search plugin used by developers) Grepper, and others use to display icons, but don't anymore because their consent screens aren't approved. This doesn't apply to all of them, just some of them. here's a screenshot of the page.




If you don't know what I mean by an unapproved consent screen, here's the difference:


Here's how the unapproved consent screen looks

Here's how the approved consent screen looks:



And here's how an approved consent screen without an icon looks:


As you can see, there were unaffected consent screens including mine. The ones that were targeted were the unapproved consent screens with icons that appeared in the "Apps with account access" tab in Google. We were not at all effected since ours is one of the approved consent screens. I hope this cleared things up a bit, now what is an approved consent screen?


Good question, this is a consent screen that was actually verified safe via a Google Developer approval process. The Google Developer approval process is where an app either chooses or is required by Google to be approved. The reason the icons got removed from those apps is if you want to display an icon, Google now requires you to go through the approval process not only for the icon to appear on the consent screen but on the page I showed you as well as all other places unapproved consent icons use to be able to appear. Anyway thanks for tuning in and I'll see you next time.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Fixing adware on Samsung Galaxy S6 in 2020

If you're stuck with a cheap refurbished phone like I am and still own a Samsung Galaxy S6 and it keeps giving you adware popups like mine did, well your in luck because we are going to talk about something called factory resetting. To factory reset follow these steps right here: Go into your setting app and click Backup and reset Then click where it says Factory data reset Then click RESET PHONE  if you want to continue After that follow the verification steps which take longer than they should Now that you've followed those steps you should be good to go.

Are websites tracking me with ads?

As you can see,  https://www.nytimes.com/2018/08/15/technology/personaltech/stop-targeted-stalker-ads.html  had a great point, but there is a solution: For Google, go into  https://adssettings.google.com/authenticated?hl=en  and make sure its toggled in this position Ad personalization is OFF There will be some websites still tracking you but that's a quick and easy solution for Google and YouTube advertisements. Unfortunately, websites will track you no matter what browser or search engine you use even if the service claims not to because their will always be cookies on the internet in order for websites to work properly.

Why you need secure passwords?

As said on   https://www.securedatarecovery.com/resources/the-importance-of-strong-secure-passwords , "Unauthorized access is a potentially major problem for anyone who uses a computer or high-tech devices such as smartphones or tablets. The consequences for victims of these break-ins can include the loss of valuable data such as presentations, emails, and music. Victims may also have their bank account information, money, or even their identity stolen. Moreover, unauthorized users may use someone else's computer to break the law, which could put the victim in legal trouble." That's why you NEVER  use your name in your password. "Did you know you never use the same password for another email" -- according to google? That's why you're "never safe than sorry"!